Europe Events/Lectures/Workshops

Photo :

NIAS Tuesday Lecture Series

US and the World Order: Options and Challenges in the 2020s

28 September 2021

By Prof Sumit Ganguly

Prof Sumit Ganguly is Rabindranath Tagore Chair, Indiana University, Bloomington

1800-1805 hrs: Welcome and Introduction

1805-1845 hrs: Lecture
By Prof Sumit Ganguly

1845-1925 hrs: Q&A

1925-1930 hrs: Vote of Thanks and Conclusion

About the Speaker
Prof Sumit Ganguly is a Distinguished Professor of Political Science and holds the Rabindranath Tagore Chair in Indian Cultures and Civilizations at Indiana University, Bloomington. Professor Ganguly has has previously taught at James Madison College of Michigan State University, Hunter College and the Graduate Center of the City University of New York and the University of Texas at Austin. He has been a Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC, a Visiting Fellow at the Center for International Security and Cooperation and at the Center on Democracy, Development and the Rule of Law at Stanford University, a Guest Scholar at the Center for Cooperative Monitoring in Albuquerque and a Visiting Scholar at the German Institute for International and Area Studies in Hamburg. He has also held the Asia Chair at Sciences Po in Paris, and the Ngee Ann Chair in International Politics at the Rajaratnam School for International Studies at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore, a Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the Institute for Defense Studies and Analysis in New Delhi and the Buffet Professor at Northwestern University for 2013-2014.  In the 2017-2018, he was a Visiting Professor at the Strategic Studies Institute of the US Army War College. He spent the summer of 2018 as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow at the University of Heidelberg.

Professor Ganguly is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is an Associate Editor of International Security and serves on the editorial boards of the Asian Security, Current History, the Journal of Democracy, Foreign Policy Analysis, The India Review, The Nonproliferation Review, Pacific Affairs and Security Studies. He is the author, co-author, editor or co-editor of 20 books on the region. His most recent books are the Oxford Short Introduction to Indian Foreign Policy (Oxford University Press, 2015), Deadly Impasse: Indo-Pakistani Relations at the Dawn of a New Century (Cambridge University Press, 2016), (with William R. Thompson), Ascending India and Its State Capacity (Yale University Press, 2017) and the co-editor (with Nicolas Blarel and Manjeet Pardesi) of The Oxford Handbook of India’s National Security (Oxford University Press, 2018) He is currently at work on a book that focuses on the origins and evolution of India’s defense policy for Columbia University Press.
Organised by

Christ (Deemed-to-be-University)
Dr Madhumati Deshpande, Head, Department of International Studies
Goa University
Prof Rahul Tripathi, Head, Department of Political Science

Jain (Deemed-to-be-University)
Dr Priyanca Mathur, Centre for Research in Social Sciences and Education (CeRSSE) 

Kristu Jayanti College
Mrs Ramya B, Head, Department of History, Faculty of Humanities
Manipal Academy of Higher Education
Dr Nanda Kishore, Head in-charge, Department of Geopolitics and International Relations

National Institute of Advanced Studies
Prof D. Suba Chandran, Dean, School of Conflict and Security Studies

Pondicherry University
Prof Subramanyam Raju, Coordinator, Centre for Maritime Studies

Stella Maris College
Ms Aarti Santhanam, Head, Department of International Studies

St Joseph's College
Dr Somaiah, Head, Department of Political Science

University of Mysore
Dr Bharati Hiremath, Head & Coordinator, Department of International Relations, Maharaja's College

Other Events

Trump Legacy

14 December 2020
By Vivek Mishra, Kamna Tiwary, Harini Madhusudan, Apoorva Sudhakar, and Abigail Fernandez

India-China Strategic Stability

5 December 2019
By Prof Rajaram Nagappa, Lt Gen Dr Prakash Menon, AVSM, PVSM, VSM, Prof VS Ramamurthy, Mr Manoj Kewalramani & Dr George Perkovich